Del Norte High’s Liang to be honored by National Football Foundation

By Michael Bower

Del Norte High’s George Liang, a two-way starter on the football team, will be honored tonight at the 41st Annual National Football Foundation Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter Banquet at the Scottish Rite Center.

Del Norte High's George Liang, right, celebrates after scoring the game-winning touchdown against Mission Bay in the opening round of the CIF San Diego Section Division IV playoffs last season. File photo

Liang, a 6-foot, 215-pound running back and linebacker for the Nighthawks, is one of just 26 San Diego County high school and college football players to earn recognition as a NFF-San Diego Chapter Scholar-Leader Athlete. The award is given to local football players for their outstanding achievement on the gridiron and off of it.

The Valley League Defensive Player of the Year carried a 3.7 GPA while helping the Nighthawks win their first CIF San Diego Section playoff game in school history. Liang, who will bring his game to USD in the fall, is a three-time selection to the All-Valley League First-Team, twice for defense and once for offense.

The event begins at 6 p.m. and is expected to draw over 300 people. Some past Scholar-Leader Athlete award winners include current NFL players Alex Smith and Reggie Bush. The late Junior Seau was also a winner during his time at Oceanside High.

Here is the complete list of players being honored tonight.

Sean Dowling (Fallbrook), Chris Martin (Otay Ranch), Andrew Maneval (Torrey Pines), Trent Galkoski (Grossmont), Michael Adkins (Helix), Kyle Mummau (La Costa Canyon),Trevor Waite (San Marcos), Isaiah Gibson (Olympian), Brandon Michel (Cathedral Catholic), Greg Verdugo (Point Loma), Taylor Esoldi (Cathedral Catholic), Keoni Kanoa(Madison), George Liang (Del Norte), Ryan Halvorson (Coronado), David McColl (La Jolla), Ben Piorkowski (St. Augustine), Jared Mohamed (Brawley), Hunter Vaccaro (Santa Fe Christian), Devyn Bryant (Horizon), Hank Childs (Parker), Michael Medina (Calipatria), Tyler Leslie (Christian), Chris Bonner (Grossmont College), Brett Nelson(Southwestern College), Matt Peleti (USD) and D.J. Shields (SDSU).

Short URL:

Posted by Michael Bower on Mar 29 2013. Filed under Community, High School, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply